Pushing Back On Procrastination With My Independent Learning Project

Over the course of these last two weeks I will fully admit that I have been procrastinating my independent learning project.  Within this next month of school I fully plan on buckling down and ensuring that I put forth the effort to feel that I succeeded on this project.

This week, I spent a couple simple hours searching foods that I wanted to try or have when I someday am able to go to Spain.  Pretty easy it would seem, however, it really wasn’t.  I have to consider the fact that I am gluten intolerant, therefore, I have to figure out authentic Spanish foods that don’t include gluten. The nice part is that I found a couple lists that included foods that didn’t involve breads and pastas.

One food dish that was described on this Top 10 foods to try in Spain list was called Tortilla Espanola.  It is described as eggs, potatoes, onions… that’s it – and some purists even consider that adding onion is a gastronomic crime of the highest order. The Spanish omelette is so much more than the sum of its parts. The potatoes and onions are slow fried in olive oil then mixed with the beaten eggs for the flavours to mix before cooking.

spanish-omelette

Photo CC By: Annie Bennett

I developed quite the list which will be incorporated into my final project presentation along with pictures and all!! I have actually even considered trying to make some of these authentic dishes on my own to try them before I even attempt to make this trip.  (Which will be very far in the future.)

This post is fairly short this week, I could post numerous food dishes and recipes–however I don’t want to bore everyone because you will all see it on the final summation of this project as a whole.

I hope that everyone is having a successful independent learning project! I am getting excited to see what everyone has done through the semester!

4 thoughts on “Pushing Back On Procrastination With My Independent Learning Project”

Leave a Reply

