Innovative Learning for a Better Future…

As I reflect on this semester I have to look at how far I have come in my personal life, my educational life, and work life I think that I have incorporated a lot of innovation in all three of those aspects.  I have learned how to relax, and know that everything is going to work out–to trust the path I’m on, and that if at the end of the day I can say I gave it my best shot–then I can’t be ashamed of what I accomplished.

How Did I Become an Innovative Learner?

I became an innovative learner this semester by being open to trying new digital technologies.  These are technologies that I would have never explored had I not taken this class–and to be totally honest, many of them are technologies that I will be able to incorporate into my future classrooms.  George Couros says in his article, The Mindset of an Innovator that an innovative mindset means, “I build upon what I already know, but I do not limit myself to myself. I’m open to and willing to embrace new learning, while continuously asking questions to move forward.”  I think that has embraced my learning experience in my digital literacy class this semester simply because I did always try new technologies and gave it my best shot regardless if I wanted to or not.  Then it seemed to always turn out that I really did enjoy the activities that we were assigned to do.  It opened my eyes to the blogging world–which I honestly had never been interested in; however, I think that it allowed the opportunity to express opinions without the ramifications of having to put down thoughts and ideas in a certain format.

What Have I Unlearned This Semester?

I have unlearned a concept stated by Richardson in the article, The Unlearning Curve which says, “We need to unlearn the idea that every student needs to learn the same content when really what they need to learn is how to self-direct their own learning.”  I think that so often I get caught up in just following instructions and making sure that I am following specific requirements of what I am supposed to learn and how.  I believe that this class specifically has made me realize that I need to slow down and take responsibility for my own learning, and structure it to include more creativity and innovation.  I think that is important to understand and utilize not only for myself, but also for my future classroom–because it structures responsibility and passion for learning.

Innovation is essential in both my personal life, and my future career–I think that it is highly important to include this mindset within my life.  These ideas will create better feelings towards learning in all aspects if I am able to take responsibility to keep an open mind  as well as self-direct my own learning.

Innovation-Header

Photo CC: Google Images

2 thoughts on “Innovative Learning for a Better Future…”

  1. Great blog! I also enjoyed this class, and it has thought me a lot. Many times we are so worried to meet all the requirements towards an assigned , we actually forget to elaborate on the assignment and have fun. This class has defenitely been different (in a good way) than the average class. And i have really enjoy that! 😉

    Like

  2. I really enjoyed reading about what you learned about yourself. It’s easy to fall into the habit of reading instructions and trying to follow what the professor wants to the letter; after all, that’s how we succeed in most classes. So a class like this can be disorienting and even irritating at times! But hopefully you have lots of takeaways that make it worthwhile.

    Like

Leave a Reply

